

**The Malaysia ChemE Car Competition 2016** by Associate Professor Dr Nooryusmiza Yusoff

Associate Professor Dr. Nooryusmiza Yusoff is a co-opted member in the Chemical Engineering Technical Division (CETD).

The Malaysia ChemE Car Competition 2016 was organised by the Chemical Engineering Technical Division (CETD) and hosted by the Universiti Teknologi Malaysia (UKM) on 8 - 9 April 2016.

Themed the "Aspiration of Green Energy", the event was officiated by YB Datuk Dr. Abu Bakar Mohamad Diah (Deputy Minister of Science, Technology and Innovation) and graced by Dato' Ir. Lim Chow Hock (the then IEM president).

This year marked the 11<sup>th</sup> competition since it was first held at UKM in 2005. Two difficult challenges based on the concept of the momentum transfer were employed in order to inculcate complex engineering problems among the participants.

First, a ChemE car was required to hit a golf ball towards a goal post, which was partially obstructed by a wooden block. In the second track, ten "bowling pins" were targeted to be knocked down by another golf ball. This was performed under the conditions that the car needed to stop at a distance from the Starting Line while carrying a load of water. Both variables were only announced two hours before the start of the competition.

A total of 63 teams from 19 institutions of higher learning, including one from Indonesia, participated at the event. The winners of the competition were:

## **Car Performance**

Prizes	University	Team Name	Names of Team Members
1 <sup>st</sup>	Monash University	GRANDIOSE	Tan Ju Kheng Lim Zhen En Ho Mun Chon Ong Pei Ling
2 <sup>nd</sup>	UPM	HIGH-TECH	Nur Izzah Nabilah Haris Mohd Azman Suwandi Yuneswaran a/I Urumugam Sivaparathi Ramasamy
3 <sup>rd</sup>	USM	APEX 2	Mohamad Fadzli Mohd Sukardi Mohammad Fareez Adam Ramli Mohammad Hafeez Zukfflay@Zulkifli Muammar Haqimi Mohd Jasin
Consolation	TATI University College	PLATINUM 78	Tengku Noor Shuhada bt Nik Aziz Nor Hayati bt Yusof Fatin Arjina bt Rozali Akmal Muhammad Nuruddin b, Abd Razak
	UKM	HARDCORE	Yap Wei Yong Foo Fang Kuan Lee Wei Xiang Chong Meng Teck
	UTP	VERMI-COCHE	Hasmiera bt Hassin @ Hashim Josephine Koh Chin Hui Nur Afifah bt Ghazali Azreennisa bt Abdul Haleem
	UNIKL iCOLE	1995	Yuzzaief bin Yunus Muhammad Shafiq bin Ali Muhammad Zuhairi bin Zoraimi Imran Afiffuddin bin Abdul Halim
	UNIKL MICET	NEODYMIUM	Muhammad Tolhah Sharifuddin bin Saini Nor Khalilah binti Kamis Nur Asyikin Atiqah bt Abdul Malek Siti Musliha bt Mat Ghani

## Poster

Prizes	University	Team Name	Names of Team Members
<b>1</b> <sup>st</sup>	Institut Teknologi Sepuluh Nopember Surabaya, Indonesia	SPEKTRONICS X	Argeomerta Lisva Ryan Nurisal Wisnu Kusuma Atmaja Ika Yuni Rachmawati
2 <sup>nd</sup>	UTP	VERMI-COCHE	Hasmiera bt Hassin @ Hashim Josephine Koh Chin Hui Nur Afifah bt Ghazali Azreennisa bt Abdul Haleem
3 <sup>rd</sup>	UPM	HIGH-TECH	Nur Izzah Nabilah Haris Mohd Azman Suwandi Yuneswaran a/I Urumugam Sivaparathi Ramasamy
4 <sup>th</sup>	USM	APEX 1	Mohamad Farhan Mohamad Taupik Mohammad Amirul Asyraf Maula Zainal Mohammad Ashraf Marzukhi Muhammad Ismathanif Md Nazir
5 <sup>th</sup>	Monash University	GRANDIOSE	Tan Ju Kheng Lim Zhen En Ho Mun Chon Ong Pei Ling
6 <sup>th</sup>	UTM	HYDROX	Ahmad Azri bin Ab Razak Nurul Syafika bt Mokhtar Nor Syafiqah bt Nordin Muhammad Shafiq Hanafie bin Sarkawi
7 <sup>th</sup>	UTP	FALCON ALPHA	Asem Mahmood Al-Shaibani Koi Zi Kang Aini Fatihah bt Anuar Rizal
8 <sup>th</sup>	UKM	ROCKHALAL	Chan Man Fui Muhamad Hamizan bin Hanafi Muhammad Anas bin Mohd Razali Muhammad Afiq Syahir bin Sabarudin
9 <sup>th</sup>	UMP	FANTASY FOUR	Chong Sheau Sie Hew Chan Phang Chong Yie Kai Lee Yong Yong
10 <sup>th</sup>	UMP	AIM4CUS	Low Min Hui Goh Ke Pei Hang Jing Thin Toh Kang Yang

Contributions from various parties including Suruhanjaya Tenaga and UTM Skudai for sponsoring the venue were appreciated.